K-State Research and Extension
More about the Department of Agricultural Economics
The department has
  • 25 tenured or tenure-track faculty with full-time appointments on campus (plus 1 coming in December)
  • On-campus faculty are split: 7.6 FTEs in extension, 8.4 FTEs in teaching, and 9.9 FTEs in research.
  • 2 faculty, both 100% extension, are located at field stations in Colby and Garden City
  • 2 instructors add to our teaching mission
  • 5 classified staff support our teaching, research, and extension responsibilities
  • About 20 unclassified staff, ranging from financial officer through assistant research professors and extension assistants
  • The Kansas Farm Management Association and K-MAR-105 have
    • 21–22 economists in 6 association offices around the state working directly with about 2,400 farmer members of the association
    • 3+ K-MAR-105 professionals in Manhattan maintaining the database management support needed to respond to member requests, provide annual updates on production and income of the members, and provide data to faculty and students for analysis of trends in Kansas agriculture
    • Leadership of KFMA and K-MAR-105 is provided by staff and faculty in the department
  • Grad students – about 50 M.S. and Ph.D. students and 80 students at various stages in our hybrid executive education Master of Agribusiness program
  • Undergrad students – we reached a new high of 409 undergraduate majors in fall 2012.
In addition to undergraduate, graduate and executive education, extension, and our research programs, significant programs in the department include:
  • Arthur Capper Cooperative Center (Brian Briggeman, director)
  • North American Institute for Beef Economic Research (Ted Schroeder, director)
  • (Proposed) Center for Risk Management Education & Research (Ted Schroeder, director)
  • Master of Agribusiness  (Allen Featherstone, director)
  • Office of Local Government (John Leatherman, director)
  • AgManager.Info (Rich Llewelyn, program leader)
  • KFMA and K-MAR-105 (Kevin Herbel, executive director)
  • MAST (Management Analysis & Strategic Thinking) (Mykel Taylor, director)
  • USAID METSS-Ghana (Agribusiness & Trade Development) (Vincent Amanor-Boadu, director)
  • Animal Health Supply Chain Program (Kara Ross, program leader)