K-State Research and Extension
More about the Northeast Area Office

NE Area coverage mapThe Northeast Area is composed of 21 counties located from Doniphan County in the extreme northeast part of the state to Harper County along the Kansas/Oklahoma border, which includes two extension districts: Meadowlark (Nemaha, Jackson, and Jefferson counties) and Flint Hills (Chase and Morris  counties).


The area currently has 44 agents who staff these counties and districts, as well as a number of program assistants and office professionals who assist the agents.

The office is housed in 1007 Throckmorton Hall in Manhattan. Three area specialists are assigned to the Northeast Area:

  • Stu Duncan, crops and soils specialist;

  • Sharolyn Jackson, family and consumer sciences specialist; and

  • Diane Mack, 4-H and Youth Development specialist.


Penny Adams and Julie Riniker are the office professionals, and Ann Domsch is the 4-H Military Families program assistant.

The area director and area specialists provide administrative and program assistance to the local units to provide effective and relevant educational programming for the residents of the Northeast Area and the state.



Return to the Main Page