K-State Research and Extension News
April 19, 2013
Share  Email the story

Webinar Set for Lesser Prairie Chicken Discussion


MANHATTAN, Kan. -- The potential listing of the Lesser Prairie Chicken (LPC) as a threatened or endangered species by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is on the minds of many landowners in Kansas and a cause of concern for land managers.

The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT) and K-State Research and Extension will host a webinar to address landowners’ concerns on April 30, 7 p.m. at 17 Kansas locations.


Speakers from KDWPT, Farm Services Agency and Natural Resources Conservation Agency will provide updated information. Topics to be discussed include

·       background on the LPC listing and the state’s planning efforts,

·       goals of the plan, and

·       priority areas.


Detailed information on the conservation value of land and allocation of offset payments to landowners will be provided. Information on the state and federal plans specifically designed to improve habitat for LPC and what a proposed listing means to those enrolled in federal programs will be explained.


Webinars allow those with high speed internet to connect with the host site and view and listen to the speaker’s programs online. Participants will be able to ask questions and make comments. Because of anticipated demand, there will be 17 viewing sites of the webinar. The list of sites follows:


Clark County: Ashland Community Building, 800 Main, Ashland, Kan. 620-635-2811, Contact: Tanner Gillum, tgillum@ksu.edu


Finney County: Finney County Extension Office, 501 S. 9th St. Garden City, Kan. 620-272-3670, Contact: Barbara Addison, baddison@ksu.edu


Ford County: Western State Bank Expo Center, 11333 Hwy 283, Dodge City, Kan. 620-227-4542, Contact: Andrea Burns, aburns@ksu.edu


Grant County: Grant County Civic Center, Lawson Room, 1100 W. Patterson, Ulysses, Kan. 620-356-1721, Contact: Joe Leibbrandt, jleibbra@ksu.edu


Gray County: 4-H Building, 17002 W. Hwy 50, Cimarron, Kan. 620-855-3821, Contact: Kurt Werth, kwerth@ksu.edu


Hamilton County, Fairgrounds, 806 South Main, Syracuse, Kan. 620-384-5225, Contact: Jeff Wilson, jjwilson@ksu.edu


Hodgeman County, 4-H Building, S. Atkin Street, Jetmore, Kan. 620-357-8321, Contact: Dewayne Craghead. dcraghea@ksu.edu


Kiowa County, Kiowa County Commons Conference Room, 320 S. Main, Suite 110, Greensburg, Kan. 620-723-2156, Contact: Barrett Smith, basmith@ksu.edu


Logan County, Courthouse Meeting Room, 710 W. 2nd, Oakley, Kan. 785-671-3245, Contact: Julie Niehage, julienie@ksu.edu


Morton County, Morton County Extension Office, 625 Colorado, Elkhart, Kan. 620-697-2558, Contact: Tim Jones, tjones@ksu.edu


Ness County, Ness County 4-H Building, 105 S. Pennsylvania, Ness City, Kan. 785-798-3921, Contact: Chris Long, clong@ksu.edu


Pratt County, KDWPT Office, 515 East 25th, Pratt, Kan. 620-672-5911, Contact: Mike Mitchener, mike.mitchener@ksoutdoors.com


Scott County, Williams Carpenter Building, East Fairground Road, Scott City, Kan. 620-872-2930, Contact: John Beckman, jbeckman@ksu.edu


Seward County, Seward County Activity Building, 810 Stadium Road, Liberal, Kan. 620-624-5604, Contact: Kylee Harrison, kharrison@ksu.edu


Sherman County, Sherman County 4-H Building, 417 Main Street, Goodland, Kan. 785-890-4880, Contact: Dana Belshe, dbelshe@ksu.edu


Stevens County, Memorial Hall, 200 E. 6th St., Stevens County Courthouse, Hugoton, Kan. 620-544-4359, Contact: Josh Morris, jcmorris@ksu.edu


Trego County, Wakeeney Public Library, 610 Russell Avenue Wakeeney, Kan. 785-743-6361, Contact: Ashley Conness, acoker@ksu.edu



For more information please contact your local Extension agent or Charlie Lee, K-State Research and Extension wildlife specialist, at clee@ksu.edu or 785-532-5734. 



                                                                                    -30-


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Elaine Edwards
elainee@ksu.edu
K-State Research & Extension News

Charlie Lee, clee@ksu.edu