K-State Research and Extension News
December 07, 2012
Share  Email the story

K-State’s Winter Ranch Management Seminar Set for Jan. 8


Seminar to be Held in Manhattan, Plus Other Locations via Webinar

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State University will host its Winter Ranch Management Seminar on Tuesday, Jan. 8 in Manhattan, as well as at eight other sites around the state. The conference begins with registration at 4 p.m. at all sites, and the program starts at 4:30 p.m. Dinner is included at all locations.

Each seminar features local onsite speakers, plus presentations via webinar, including: 

  • Protection and Restoration of Forage and Range Resources – onsite speaker at each location.
  • R.A. Brown Ranch: Management Innovations for a Changing Beef Industry – Donnell Brown, R.A. Brown Ranch, Throckmorton, Texas (webinar).
  • Fetal Programming: Implications for Beef Cattle Production – Rick Funston, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (webinar).
  • Tips and Tools to Reach Your Management Goals – onsite speaker at each location.

Locations and contact information for each site include:

-        Kansas State University, 111 Weber Hall, Manhattan – Eve Clark – 785-532-1280 or evec@ksu.edu.

-        K-State Olathe, 22201 W. Innovation Drive, Olathe – Rick Miller – 913-715-7000 or rick.miller@jocogov.org.

-        Astra Bank, 1205 18th St., Belleville – Robin Slattery – 785-325-2121 or rslat@ksu.edu.

-        Ellsworth Golf Course, 900 E. Second St., Ellsworth – Debbie Jacobs – 785-472-4442 or djacobs@ksu.edu.

-        Bowyer Community Building, Lyon Co. Fairgrounds, 2710 W. Highway 50, Emporia – Brian Rees, 620-341-3220 or brees@k-state.edu.

-        Neosho Co. Courthouse basement, 100 S. Main, Erie – Delta George, 620-223-3720 or delta@ksu.edu.

-        Shears Technology Theater, Hutchinson Community College, 1300 N. Plum, Hutchinson – Cody Barilla, 620-662-2371 or cbarilla@ksu.edu.

-        Northwest Kansas Educational Service Center, 703 W. Second St., Oakley – Scott Barrows – 785-743-6361 or rsbarrow@ksu.edu.

-        Rooks County Golf Club, 1925 U.S. Highway 183, Plainville – Rachael Boyle – 785-425-6851 or rboyle@k-state.edu.

More information, including registration, is available through the contacts listed at each site or online at Winter Ranch Management Seminar.

-30-


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Mary Lou Peter
mlpeter@ksu.edu
K-State Research & Extension News

Larry Hollis – 785-532-1246 or lhollis@ksu.edu