K-State Research and Extension News
May 28, 2014
Share  Email the story

Kansas 4-H to Award Scholarships to 62 Students

MANHATTAN, Kan. – From more than 200 applications, the Kansas 4-H Foundation has selected 62 students to share more than $58,000 in scholarships, rewarding them for their dedication and leadership as Kansas 4-H members.

The scholarships can be used to fund post-secondary education during the 2014-15 academic year, and will be awarded at the 2014 Emerald Circle Banquet, June 4, in Manhattan.

“Education – and the building of life skills and lifelong interests in many disciplines – is an integral part of Kansas 4-H programs, and it is our pleasure to make academic awards to extend educational opportunities,” said Gordon Hibbard, president of the Foundation.

Many of the donors are former 4-H members who give back with appreciation for experiences in 4-H that have helped to shape their lives, he said.

Scholarship recipients are 4-H members selected through an annual application and review process. Applications are judged with emphasis on 4-H leadership, citizenship and involvement.

“I feel truly blessed,” said Leah Kimzey, Kansas 4-H Young Alumni Coordinator and sophomore at K-State majoring in agricultural economics. “The scholarships that I have received have enabled me to pursue my college degree. 4-H has always been something that I have been passionate about, which makes being awarded a Kansas 4-H scholarship even more special."

2014-15 Kansas 4-H Foundation scholarships are listed by the recipient’s hometown, followed by the scholarship recipient’s name, and donor:
  • Abilene: Mackenzie Riffel, Roy B. and Elizabeth Curry Oyer Scholarship;

  • Assaria: Kendal Peterson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

  • Atchison: Kenneth Tharman, June Beaver 4-H Scholarship;

  • Auburn: Luke Garrison, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

  • Axtell: Audrey Schmitz, Glenn M. and Rosemary Busset Scholarship;
    Tracy Schmitz, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;
    Tricia Schmitz, Roscoe M. and Winona M. Starkey Scholarship;
  • Baileyville: Tyler Deters, Gary and Lorraine Kilgore 4-H Scholarship;

  • Brookville: Courtney Reed, J. Clifton and Helen F. Ramsey Scholarship;

  • Bucyrus: Robert Dennis, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

  • Buhler: Karley Mishler, Ross E. and Margaret Colman Wulfkuhle Scholarship;

  • Chapman: Augustus Anders, Marceil Gradwohl 4-H Scholarship;

  • Cimarron: Abbygail Hogan, Cecil and Merle Eyestone Scholarship;

  • Colby: Sarah Lamm, Pierre C. Henry Scholarship;

  • Courtland: Brooke Jensen, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

  • Delphos: McKayla Brubaker, Elmer and Mary Schlagel Pelton Family 4-H Scholarship;

  • Dodge City: Lauren Schriner, Mandy and Joseph Kern 4-H Scholarship;
    Dakota Derstein, A.B. Mahieu Scholarship;
  • Effingham: Bridget Kelley, John Jr. and Ula Armstrong Scholarship;

  • Emporia: Logan Fuller, Extension Step Ahead Scholarship; southeast area recipient;

  • Arissa Moyer, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

  • Erie: Benjamin Yarnell, Goppert Southeast 4-H Scholarship;

  • Fredonia: Leah Kimzey, John L. Wilson Memorial Scholarship;

  • Great Bend: Bonny Boultinghouse, Clara L. Dubbs 4-H Scholarship;
    Logan Evers, Kansas Association of Wheat Growers Scholarship;
  • Hartford: Brianna Zweimiller, Frances W. Dunbar Memorial 4-H Scholarship;

  • Humbolt: Anna Setter, Andrew J. Clawson Memorial Scholarship;

  • Kingman: Ryan Kinsler, Master-Farmer- Farm Homemaker 4-H Scholarship;

  • Kinsley: Kristin Stiebe, Oscar W. Norby Scholarship;

  • Leavenworth: Victoria Thompson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;
    Samantha White, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

  • Lewis: Clara Cross, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

  • Lorraine: Ty Nienke, Extension Step Ahead Scholarship; northwest area recipient;

  • Manhattan: Rachel Juenemann, William G. and Marita Jean (Spiers) Willis Scholarship;

  • McLouth: Danae Williams, Mary Lou Gibbs 4-H Scholarship;

  • McPherson: Amy Sents, June Beaver 4-H Scholarship:

  • Meade: Cooper Clawson, Donald E. Leu Scholarship;

  • Medicine Lodge: Bethany Morford, Extension Step Ahead Scholarship; southwest area recipient;

  • Olsburg: Kyle Apley, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

  • Osage City: Elizabeth Wilk, John C. Carter Memorial Scholarship;

  • Paola: Ronald Sullivan, A. Lois Redman 4-H Scholarship;

  • Parker: Audrey Diehm, Goppert Southeast 4-H Scholarship;

  • Phillipsburg: Justin Turner, J. Harold and LaVerne Johnson Scholarship;

  • Pratt: Taylor DeWeese, Jack and Lindy Lindquist 4-H Youth Council Leadership

  • Ransom: Marta Payne, Mary E. Border Scholarship;

  • Russell: Gage Nichols, M. H. Coe Memorial Scholarship;
    Paxton Pospichal, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;
  • Salina: Stetson Schmutz, June Beaver 4-H Scholarship;

  • Scott City: MariKate Crouch, Winter Family Scholarship;

  • Stafford: Brianna McNickle, Georgia Wertsberger Scholarship;

  • Sublette: Ashlee Schneider, Roger E. Regnier Scholarship;

  • Topeka: Conrad Kabus, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

  • Tribune: Katherine Flores-Bailey, Ross and Marianna Beach Foundation Endowed Scholarship;

  • Valley Center: Jill Seiler, Donald E. Leu Scholarship;

  • Wallace: Callahan Grund, Nathan Carroll Memorial Scholarship;

  • Wamego: Nicole Born, June Beaver 4-H Scholarship;
    Annette Trieb, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;
  • Weir: Kenneth Garrett Kays, Allan and Carolyn Harms Family Scholarship;

  • Winchester: Abraham Buddish, Extension Step Ahead Scholarship; northeast area recipient;

  • Woodbine: Marcus Cox, Douglas F. and Linda Beech Educational Scholarship;              


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Kaitlin Morgan
K-State Research & Extension News

Sarah Keatley – keatley@ksu.edu; Rhonda Atkinson – ratkinson@ksu.edu