K-State Research and Extension News
May 28, 2013
Share  Email the story

Kansas 4-H to Award Scholarships to 57 Students

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas 4-H Foundation has selected 57 students to share in $45,700 in scholarships, rewarding them for their dedication and leadership as Kansas 4-H members.

The scholarships can be used to fund post-secondary education during the 2013-14 academic year, and will be awarded at the 2013 Emerald Circle Banquet, May 30 in Manhattan, Kan.

“Education – and the building of life skills and lifelong interests in many disciplines – is an integral part of Kansas 4-H programs, and it is our pleasure to make academic awards to extend educational opportunities,” said Gordon Hibbard, president of the Kansas 4-H Foundation.

Scholarship recipients are 4-H members selected through an annual application and review process. Applications are judged with emphasis on 4-H leadership, citizenship and involvement.

Many of the donors are former 4-H members who give back with appreciation for experiences in 4-H that have helped to shape their lives, he said.

“Kansas 4-H is very appreciative of the donor’s investment into the 4-H member’s future as an effort to grow Kansas leaders. The scholarships are reward for the young person’s hard work, outstanding leadership and contribution to his or her community,” said Pam Van Horn, extension specialist in the Department of 4-H Youth Development for K-State Research and Extension.

2013-14 Kansas 4-H Foundation scholarships are listed in alphabetical order by the scholarship recipient’s hometown, followed by the recipient’s name and donor:

Auburn: Luke Garrison, Cecil and Merle Eyestone Scholarship;

Axtell: Audrey Schmitz, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship; Austin Schmitz, Roscoe M. and Winona M. Starkey Scholarship;

Baileyville: Tyler Deters, Roy B. and Elizabeth Curry Oyer Scholarship;

Brookville: Cain Fouard, Jack and Lindy Lindquist 4-H Youth Council Leadership Scholarship; Courtney Reed, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

Brewster: Benjamin Baird, Pierre C. Henry Scholarship;

Carbondale: Whitney Wilson, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

Centralia: Blake Henry, Douglas F. and Linda Beech Educational Scholarship;

Colby: Rachel Juenemann, Northwest Area Extension Step Ahead Scholarship;

Concordia: Erica Johnson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

Delphos: McKayla Brubaker, Glenn M. and Rosemary Busset Scholarship;

Effingham: Kelsi Sheeley, John Junior and Ula Armstrong Scholarship;

Emporia: Arissa Moyer, Frances W. Dunbar Memorial 4-H Scholarship;

Englewood: Carl Clawson, John C. Carter Memorial Scholarship;

Fredonia: Leah Kimzey, Goppert Southeast 4-H Scholarship;

Fort Scott: Katelyn Vincent, Dr. Robert A. and Vera Jean Bohannon Memorial Clovia Scholarship;

Garden City: Steven Buchele, Allan and Carolyn Harms Family Scholarship; Charla Norquest, William G. and Marita Jean (Spiers) Willis Scholarship;

Garnett: Amanda Nelson, Goppert Southeast 4-H Scholarship;

Great Bend: Danette Unruh, A.B. Mahieu Scholarship;

Hanover: Emily Meyer, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

Hartford: Doris Laws, M. H. Coe Memorial Scholarship; Brianna Zweimiller, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

Hays: Chelsey Smith, Elmer and Mary Schlagel Pelton Family 4-H Scholarship;

Hugoton: Logan Brecheisen, Southwest Area Extension Step Ahead Scholarship;

Little River: Anna Dillon, Georgia Wertsberger Scholarship;

Louisburg: Kaitlynn Combs, Winter Family Grants Scholarship;

Manhattan: Kristine Clowers, Mary E. Border Scholarship; Aaron Messerla, Mary Lou Gibbs 4-H Scholarship; Reid Shipman, Ross E. and Margaret Colman Wulfkuhle Scholarship;

Marion: Cara Martin, Southeast Area Extension Step Ahead Scholarship;

Meade: Cooper Clawson, J. Harold and LaVerne Johnson Scholarship;

Meriden: Jennifer McNary, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

Morland: Jordan Bell, John L. Wilson Memorial Scholarship;

Oakley: Leigh Ann Maurath, Clara L. Dubbs 4-H Scholarship;

Oberlin: Zachary May, Master-Farmer- Farm Homemaker 4-H Scholarship;

Olathe: Courtney Claxton, Marceil Gradwohl 4-H Scholarship;

Osawatomie: Rylan Laudan, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

Paola: Bailey Hart, Andrew J. Clawson Memorial Scholarship; Faith Johnson, Roger E. Regnier Scholarship; Ronald Sullivan Jr., A. Lois Redman 4-H Scholarship;

Salina: Kendra Baumberger, J. Clifton and Helen F. Ramsey Scholarship; Allyson Henry, Mandy and Joseph Kern 4-H Scholarship;

Satanta: Kathryn Clawson, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship; Kurtis Clawson, Gary and Lorraine Kilgore 4-H Scholarship;

Scott City: Kiersten Scott, Winter Family Grants Scholarship;

Topeka: Lydia Gibson, Frank W. and Gwen Romine Jordan Scholarship;

Valley Falls: Amanda Sales, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

WaKeeney: Kaylee Smith, Nathan Carroll Memorial Scholarship;

Wamego: Shannon Oakley, Northeast Area Extension Step Ahead Scholarship; Annette Trieb, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

Weir: Charles Reagan Kays, Donald E. Leu Scholarship; Kenneth Garrett Kays, Oscar W. Norby Scholarship;

Westphalia: Wyatt Pracht, Kansas Association of Wheat Growers Scholarship;

Wright: Nicole Brauer, Orscheln Farm and Home 4-H Scholarship;

Yates Center: Alexa Stephenson, Ross and Marianna Beach Foundation Endowed Scholarship.


K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus, Manhattan.

Story by: Kaitlin Morgan
K-State Research & Extension News

Pam Van Horn - pvanhorn@ksu.edu - 785-532-5800 or Gordon Hibbard, Kansas 4-H Foundation - ghibbard@k-state.edu - 785-532-5881